Checking in

OK so I have been quiet, mostly due to work commitments, but I am still cycling and still finding interesting things to do that are cycle related. And yeah I still haven’t got the Dayton on the road but it is now in the loft workshop, almost at the front of the queue (well it was at the front until I accidentally picked up a beautiful early 1980’s Mercian in pieces which will be a doddle to put back together. More on that to follow.

For Christmas I got a fantastic book – Bike Snob by BikeSnobNYC – I just spent the morning reading his blog having finished the book in 24 hours. Thoroughly recommended – and I love his views on hipsters. He has a great turn of phrase and I have realised I am probably a Schizophrenic Retro-Grouch by his definitions. Schizophrenic as I do stray into other genres such as Mountain Biker, Roadie (well sort of) and maybe just a bit of Lone Wolf at times.

Other stuff, well the cute pic below is a genuine 1984 Mongoose Californian, built in the US of A (not Taiwan) and rebuilt by me and number 2 daughter in London with a few minor colour variations but basically 100% original apart from the saddle and tyres. It has proven to be a great performer over a modern day BMX track, it’s light, well balanced and strong. The original forged alloy MX brakes are surprisingly effective as well.

Image

Leave a comment