1920’s Sunbeam

Last summer we went camping at a farm belonging to my uncle’s family. Whilst there I rode the oldest bike I have ever seen, a 1920’s Sunbeam. It has rod brakes, 2 gears and is surprisingly comfortable and well balanced, albeit rather hefty. Worth noting, too, that it is NOT restored – it is in original condition. My uncle is a purist about these things.

1920's Sunbeam

1920's Sunbeam

I had a bit of fun riding it about and later in the week I was asked to take it back to London for my uncle. So we loaded it onto the roof carrier and took it back home.

The Sun Beam

The Sun Beam

The next day I rode it the 10 miles from home into work which was near my uncle’s London house, and dropped it off to him. I only wished I had a tweed jacket and deerstalker cap to ride it in, but I had a lot of fun. At the time I was feeling pretty fit due to regular riding so I was in a mood to take all comers. On the “Silly Commuter Game” I certainly took a few scalps that morning. The bike ran beautifully and was perfectly geared for fairly high cadence speeding through London streets. And the rod brakes stopped it pretty effectively so once I was confident taking it at speed I really gave it some, sitting completely upright and taking on (and beating) many considerably lighter and faster bikes.

Upright cycling position

Upright cycling position

I must have looked a sight and my careering journey was only slowed by the saddle, which flipped back on the oldfashioned mount quite a few times.

Saddle

Now THATs a saddle!

Anyway I reckon its a good many decades since the old girl went that fast in London and for an octagenarian she did very very well.

Headlamp

... and that is a headlamp.

Leave a comment